Skip to main content

Full Text @ Einstein: Full Text from PubMed

A guide to accessing the full text of an article.

Linking to Full Text from PubMed

Use the  PubMed link  on any of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library's web pages for faster, easier access the full text of articles you need.

Features include:

  • All results display the PutMed Icon button when in the "Abstract" view. This button links you to the Library's electronic or print holdings and interlibrary loan options.
  • Five filters to narrow down the literature, visible to the right of your search results.
  1. Systematic Reviews – Shows only articles that are systematic reviews of meta-analyses.
  2. Therapy / Treatment – Shows a narrow set of randomized controlled trials.
  3. Diagnosis – Shows a narrow set of articles discussing diagnostic criteria. 
  4. Etiology / Harm – Shows a narrow set of articles discussing the risks of a treatment, procedure, or activity.
  5. Prognosis – Shows a narrow set of articles discussing prognostic criteria.

 

 

Note: If you are signed into your own MyNCBI account, you will not see these features. To add these features to your own account, please contact a member of the reference staff or see the Next Steps tab in this guide.

 

MyNCBI has preferences that you can set to customize your PubMed experience.  The "Outside Tool" preference is important because it tells PubMed which subscribing institution you belong to. Outside Tool also gives you access to your library's full text and interlibrary loan options. Follow these steps to select the D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Outside Tool within MyNCBI.

    Under the MyNCBI log out link at the top right of the page, locate the "NCBI Site Preferences" link.

    Under "PubMed Preferences", click on "Outside Tool".

    An alphabetical list of institutions will display.  Choose "A" and click in the radio button to the left of "Albert Einstein College of Medicine" to select this as your "Outside Tool" and then click save.

 

This option enables PubMed to recognize you as a D. Samuel Gottesman Library subscriber even if you didn't access Pubmed from the library's homepage link.  As long as you are logged into your MyNCBI account, you will be recognized by PubMed as a D. Samuel Gottesman Library subscriber, even if you are off campus and not on the campus network.

The "Outside Tool" also provides easier access to D. Samuel Gottesman Library actual subscribed full-text articles via the button, which appears to the right of the generic full-text button.  By utilizing the Einstein Library button, you will be assured of accessing the D. Samuel Gottesman Library online subscription, instead of the publisher site.

Loading ...

For Additional PubMed Help

For additional help with the PubMed database, see our research guide on PubMed Tips.

For additional information on the MyNCBI feature within PubMed, please see our research guide on Personalized Searching.