Skip to main content

RefWorks: Alternatives

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program.

Need Help?

 

        

Visit the Reference Desk.

(Mon. - Thurs., 9am - 6pm, and Friday, 9am - 5pm.)

Email us your question.
   Call us: 718.430.3104 
(Mon. - Thurs., 9am - 6pm, and Friday, 9am - 5pm.)
Text us

Text us: 718.407.0761

(Mon. - Thurs., 10am - 6pm, and Friday, 10am - 5pm.)

Virtual Consultation

Call us at 718.430.3104. We'll show you how it's done -- on your own computer.

(Mon. - Fri., 10am - 4pm)

Search our FAQs.

 

EndNote

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a site license for EndNote bibliographic management tool bibliographic management software.  EndNote X7  can be downloaded from the Library. You must have a Remote Access account to download EndNote.

  • Gather references from many online resources.
  • Format references into bibliographies and papers
  • Store PDFs of articles

Move Select References from an EndNote Library to RefWorks

  1. In EndNote, select references to export. Go to File > Export.  Output Style = EndNote Export.  File will have a .txt extension.
  2. In RefForks go to References > Import > From Text file.  Import Filter/Data Source = EndNote View.  Click Import

Move an Entire EndNote Library to RefWorks

  1. Make a not of where your EndNote Library is saved on your computer.
  2. In RefWorks go to References > Import From EndNote Database.  Select your EndNote Library.  It will have a .enl extension. Click Import.

Transfer RefWorks References to EndNote

  1. In RefWorks go to References > Export.  Indicate references to include.  Export Format = Bibliographic Software (EndNote, ReferenceManager, Procite). Click Export.
  2. In EndNote go to File > Import > File. Choose the file that was exported from RefWorks.  Import Option = RefMan (RIS).  Click Import.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer.  The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. An iPhone/iPad app is available.  Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.

 Learn more about Mendeley.

Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Workspace

F1000 Workspace is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. F1000 Workspace also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies.

Learn more about F1000 Workspace.