Skip to main content

EndNote: Creating Bibliographies

EndNote & Your Word Processor

WINDOWS

  • EndNote X8's Cite While You Write is compatible with MS Word 2007, 2010, 2013 & 2016. 
  • EndNote X8 is also compatible with OpenOffice and LibreOffice.
  • Additional information is available on the EndNote support website.

MAC

  • EndNote X8's Cite While You Write is compatible with Word 2008, 2011, 2016 and Pages '09.
    • Note: For compatibility with Word 2016, you must use EndNote version X7.5.1.1 or higher.
  • Additional information is available on the EndNote support website.

Don't see the EndNote Toolbar?

The Support & Services section of EndNote's website offers suggestions for what to if the EndNote toolbar in MS Word disappears.

A quick fix for Windows users is to run the Configure EndNote program from your computer's Start menu.  Go to Start > Programs > EndNote > Configure EndNote, and follow the prompts.

Adding Citations

There are several ways to add EndNote referenes to a Word document using the Cite While You Write toolbar.

  1. Tools > EndNote > Find Citations
  2. Tools > Go to EndNote.  In EndNote hightlight a reference. In Word, go to Tools > Insert Selected Citation.
  3. Copy a citation in EndNote.  Paste it into Word document.
  4. Drag and drop.

Web-based Word Processors

Even though EndNote does not have a plugin for web-based word processors such as Google Docs or MS Word Online, you can still insert citations from your EndNote library into documents and format them in your preferred bibliographic style. To do this, you will insert unformatted citations into your document, download the document to your desktop, and format it using EndNote's "Format Paper" tool.

Unformatted citations act as place holders in a document and are inserted wherever you would like in-text citations to appear. Unformatted citations are usually delimited by "curly brackets" and include enough information to identify a reference in your EndNote library (usually an author's last name, year of publication, and possibly a reference's record number within your EndNote library). Examples: {Glassman, 2014} or {Sacks, 2010, #350}.

Follow these steps:

  1. Working in your web-based word processor, insert unformatted citations into your document wherever you want in-text citations to appear using any of these methods.
    • Type unformatted citations by hand
    • Copy a reference from EndNote and paste (unformatted) into the document.
    • Drag and drop references from EndNote into the document.
  2. Download or export your finished document in .rtf or .odt format.
  3. In EndNote go to Tools and select Format Paper.
  4. Review the the report for unmatched or ambiguous citations.
  5. Select your Output Style.
  6. Click Format.

The formatted document will be in the same file format as its original version. The name of the Output Style you selected will be appended to the file name. For example, a file originally named test.rtf that was formatted using the APA 6th Output Style would be named test-APA 6th.rtf.

Please note: Documents formatted this way do not contain any field codes. If you need remove, edit or insert citations, you will have to edit your original, unformatted document.

 

Unformatted citations in this document have been highlighted in yellow. They are delimited by {curly brackets} and include the author's name, year of publication, and EndNote Record ID number.

Export From Google Docs

Google Docs

Export from MS Word

Word Online

In EndNote go to Tools > Format Paper.

Tools > Format Paper

Review to make sure all of the citations in your document match what's in your EndNote library.

Review

Select your Output Style.

Output Style

Click Format to create your in-text citations and reference list.

Format Button

The file name for your formatted document will include the original file name and the Output Style you selected. For example: MagnumOpus-APA 6th.rtf.

Final Formatted

Loading ...

Understanding Field Codes

Do not panic if you notice that your MS Word document looks something like this when you are adding references.Field Codes in a Word document

This just means that Word is displaying Field Codes. To hide the field codes, hold down the ALT key and press the F9 key.

If that does not work, try the following:

  • In Word 2003, click on Tools > Options > View. Make sure Field Codes is unchecked.
  • In Word 2010 or 2007, click on the Office button. Select Word Options. Click Advanced. Scroll down to Show Document Content.  Uncheck Show Field Codes Instead of their Values.
  • In Word 2011 or 2008 for Macs, click Word > Preferences > View. Make sure Field Codes is unchecked.

When you have finished writing your paper and are ready to submit it to a publisher, you should remove the Field Codes from your document.  Use the Remove Field Codes button from the EndNote Toolbar.  This will create a copy of your document without any Field Codes.  Send this copy to the publisher.  Save your original document just in case you need to make any revisions.

    Styles

    Reformat bibliographies with different styles.  Go to Tools > EndNote > Format Bibliography. Click Browse and select appropriate Output Style.

    Can't find your Output Style?

    Adding PMCIDs to EndNote Styles

    Journals Term List

    Some bibliography styles require a journal's title to be spelled out.  Others require an abbreviation.  EndNote's Journals Term List inserts the correct version of a journal title into a bibliography.

    Configure the Journals Term List

    1. Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
    2. Select journals already in the list and click the Delete Term button.
    3. Select the Lists tab.
    4. Click the Import List button.
    5. Locate and select a term list file.  Predefined EndNote Term Lists are located in the Terms Lists folder within the EndNote folder (For Windows it is usually C:\Program Files\EndNote X7Terms Lists.  For Macs it is usually Macintosh HD > Applications > EndNote X7 > Terms).
    6. Select Medical.txt. (8907 terms will be added to the Journal Terms List).

    Adding/Editing Journal Titles in the Terms List

    1. Click the New Term button.
    2. Enter Full Journal Title and Abbreviations in the appropriate box.  Journal title and abbreviation information are available from PubMed's Journal database.

    Check Output Styles

    1. Edit > Output Styles
    2. Select a Style
    3. Sometimes the Journal Name Format is set to "Don't Replace."
    4. Select the correct Journal Name Format from Journal Names.

    10 Tips for Avoiding Accidental Plagiarism

    1. Keep all of your references in one Library.  It will be easier to find them when you need them.
    2. Add references as soon as you come across them.  Don't wait until you are starting to write.
    3. Check for duplicates early & often. 
      2.5. Update your references.  Check to see if epubs or in-process citations have been published.
    4. Import publisher-supplied PDFs directly into your Library.
    5. Use Find Full Text or Attach Files to get PDFs for references already in your Library.  
    6. Annotate PDFs.  Many programs (including EN, Preview for Macs and Adobe Acrobat Pro) will let you highlight text and add notes. 
      6.5. Annotate references in you Library, using the Notes, Research Notes, or User-Defined fields.
    7. Organize with Groups.  References can belong to more than one Group.  It might be helpful to create a separate Group for each section of your manuscript. EndNote creates a temporary, system-generated Group of references being added to a document.  These references can be copied into a regular Group.
    8. Insert citations as you write.  Make it easier to see who you are citing by using an Author/Date style or unformatted citatations while you write. Change to department- or journal-specified style when you are finished writing.
    9. Use your word processor's Comments feature as reminders of passages that must be cited.
    10. Make sure the references you cite are correct!

    Tools for Authors