Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, June 2017: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library

Welcome

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities.  It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use.

Librarians Presented a Poster at the Annual Medical Library Association (MLA) Meeting

Our librarians presented a poster entitled “Librarians Flip for Students: Developing a Self-directed and Lifelong Learning Skills Module for 1st and 2nd year Medical Students” at the Medical Library Association (MLA) Annual Conference, May 2017. The poster describes a project in which librarians introduce students to the process of self-directed learning, and teach 1st and 2nd year medical students how to search the medical literature and find evidence-based articles, cultivating skills which they can use throughout their careers.

To learn more, read our poster.

Event In The Library

The library hosted a beer tasting event in conjunction with the exhibit currently on display until June 16 entitled from DNA to Beer: Harnessing Nature in Medicine and Industry.  The exhibit, from the National Library of Medicine explores how life forms such as bacteria, yeasts, and molds can cause sickness or restore health, and help produce foods and beverages for our consumption.

The beer tasting was offered by a representative from Bronx Brewery who talked about beer tasting and the beer-making process. Students enjoyed an afternoon break of snacks and a small taste of a variety of beers.

 

Databases To Help With Your Research

The D. Samuel Gottesman library offers students, staff and faculty a host of online databases to help with research needs. 

Please check out the library's extensive Databases page available from our website and from here.  Databases are arranged alphabetically and can be filtered by name of database and by subject. A search box is also available to quickly pull up a desired database.

If you need help with accessing or using the databases, contact a librarian at askref@einstein.yu.edu

If you would like to suggest new resources for the library, please use the contact form

Here is a short list of databases the library subscribes to listed by title:

Using Favorites In your AccessMedicine App

Do you want to consult a topic quickly? Save any record as a 'favorite' and instantly access when you need it. Simply look for the blue star icon within the topic and tap to save.

Click on this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IN67GU0JT2A to watch a brief demonstration of the Favorites feature which allows you to bookmark topics so you can find them quickly and easily. This feature is available in all Unbound Medicine Apps.

Librarian

Rachel Schwartz's picture
Rachel Schwartz
Contact:
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, New York 10461
718.430.3104
Website / Blog Page

Einstein Book Club

The Book Club has an email list for discussion and announcements. Sign up at https://lists.aecom.yu.edu/mailman/listinfo/bookclub

DATE: July 12, 2017

TIME: 12:00 Noon-1:00pm

PLACE: Forchheimer Room 119N