This is the "Home" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar  

Get more out of Google Scholar
Last Updated: Dec 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/GoogleScholar Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held in the Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N. Mouse over a workshop title for details. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Need Help?

Library FAQs

E-mail: askref@einstein.yu.edu.

At the Reference Desk: Mon. - Thurs., 9am - 6pm, and Friday, 9am - 5pm.

Phone: Call 718.430.3104, Mon. - Thurs., 9am - 6pm, and Friday, 9am - 5pm.

Text a Librarian,  Mon. - Fri., 10am - 5pm

Text us at 718.407.0761. 

Virtual Consultation: Need help, but can't come to the library? Call us at 718.430.3104. We'll show you how it's done -- on your own computer.

Chat, Mon. - Fri., 10am - 5pm



 

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes journal articles, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from universities, societies, publishers, online repositories, and other web sites to find scholarly information.

Use this Google Scholar link when searching from off campus or when exporting to RefWorks.

 

What is Google Scholar good for?

  • Useful for locating hard-to-find literature.
  • Includes patents, legal documents and court cases.
  • Coverage is multi-disciplinary.
  • Indexes full text of documents.
  • Complements search results from other databases (such as PubMed and Web of Science).
  • Useful for identifying articles where only incomplete citation information is known.
 

What are Google Scholar's drawbacks?

  • Content is not necessarily peer reviewed.  Users must evaluate search results.
  • Update schedule is based on the speed at which Google's robots crawl websites.
  • Results are ranked by relevance, not chronologically.  Be sure to look carefully at dates.
  • Might not include pulications such as book reviews, news sections, editorials, announcements, and letters.
 

Search Tips

Google Scholar search results tend to be very large.  There are several ways to refine a search and narrow results.

  • Limit by date.
  • Search "Articles excluding patents."
  • Limit by year.
  • Use Advanced Scholar Search to
    • Limit by Subject Area.
    • Search by Title Words instead of Full Text
    • Search an exact phrase.
  • Search journal titles by full title as well as abbreviation.

Read Google's Advanced Scholar Search Tips.

 

Google Scholar via EZproxy

Use this Google Scholar link when searching from off campus or when exporting to RefWorks.

Librarian

Profile Image
Nancy Glassman
Logo - FacebookLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, NY 10461
T: 718.430.3108
F: 718.430.8795
Send Email
 

Tell me what you think.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip