Skip to main content

Bibliographic Tools: Options

Introduction

Bibliographic management software makes it easy to collect and organize references to any type of information, from journal articles to multimedia files. The software also allows students and researchers to insert their citations into papers and format them for publication painlessly. This guide lists some tools that are supported by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool.  The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a subscription.  It is available from on campus and remotely (with remote access ID and password).

  • Gather references from many online resources.
  • Format references into bibliographies and papers
  • Share references with colleagues

RefWorks 2.0 is brand new and has a clean, streamlined interface.

Learn more about RefWorks.

EndNote

EndNote X9

EndNote is available free of charge to current Einstein students, postdocs, faculty, and staff through the Library's site license with Clarivate Analytics.

Learn more about EndNote.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer.  The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. An iPhone/iPad app is available.  Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.

 Learn more about Mendeley.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows users to collect, manage and cite research resources. Users can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Learn more about Zotero.

Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Workspace

F1000 Workspace is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. F1000 Workspace also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies.

Learn more about F1000 Workspace.