Skip to main content

Zotero: Getting started

Zotero is a free bibliographic management program, available as a Firefox add-on or a stand-alone program. It allows you to easily share your own work or your sources.

Welcome to Zotero

Zotero is a free bibliographic management tool that allows you to store and organize your references. You can add references from library databases, add books with websites like Amazon.com and WorldCat.org, and manually add any references, such as websites. You can also insert in-text citations while typing your papers, and generate a bibliography of all your references at the end.

This guide contains the following sections:

Getting started

Adding references

Full text

Creating bibliographies

Organizing

Collaborating

Syncing

Alternatives

Get Zotero

There are two ways to download Zotero.

Zotero for Firefox: Use Zotero without leaving the Firefox browser.
Zotero Standalone: For those using Chrome and Safari browsers.

See Zotero's installation help page.

Open Zotero

For Zotero for Firefox, click the Zotero icon in the Firefox toolbar to open your Zotero library. This brings up a pane with all of your references, collections, and notes. You can close the Zotero for Firefox pane by clicking on the X icon in the upper right of the Zotero window or by clicking on the toolbar icon again. The Zotero window does not have to be open for you to do “quick saves” of material you want to add to your research collection.

Zotero Standalone can be opened from your operating system's dock or file manager like any other program.

Reference Librarian

Karen Sorensen's picture
Karen Sorensen
Contact:
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461-1924
Phone: 718.430.3104
Fax: 718.430.8795
Website