Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, August 2019: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library

Welcome

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities.  It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use.

In This Guide

In This Guide

From The Director
Quick Guide To The D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Resources For Einstein Students
New Article Alert For Scholarly Journals
An Updated PubMed Is On It's Way
Browse and Read Medical Journals With Read by QxMD
Nature Metabolism Is Now Available
New E-Books
New Titles From Access Medicine
New Titles From The McGraw-Hill First Aid Collection
Library Classes and Events

From The Director

From The Director

All of us at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library welcome new and returning students and wish you a successful academic year!  Librarians are here to assist you with research or other information needs. Please let us know when you have questions about services or access to electronic resources. We’re here to help you! 

Quick Guide To The D. Samuel Gottesman Library

Find answers to frequently asked questions, basic information and specific instructions in the Library FAQs guide http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/FAQs

Resources For Einstein Students

You can find the Library resources you use most — study room reservations, printing and photocopying information, mobile apps and more — with one click. Guides are available for:

Bookmark your guide! If there's something we missed, let us know. Email askref@einstein.yu.edu.

New Article Alert For Scholarly Journals

BrowZine is a current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all faculty, staff, and students.

You can:

  • Create a customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals (64 max), which you can access on the web and mobile devices. This includes journals in all disciplines, from hundreds of publishers for which the library has a direct subscription as well as open access journals.
  • Check in periodically to see if new articles have been published. On your mobile device, you'll get a notification with the number of new articles.  
  • Browse the articles for ones you want to read, or download to read later.
  • Create and organize lists of articles ("My Articles") for easy retrieval. This is a great way to save articles for later reading if you like to scan for articles on your phone but prefer to read them on your tablet or computer.
  • Share links to articles, or export references into bibliographic management software.

To get started, search for BrowZine in your device’s app store, download the free app, and then select Albert Einstein College of Medicine from the list of institutions.

For more information, see our Bowzine guide or contact the Reference Department at askref@einstein.yu.edu.

An Updated PubMed Is On It's Way

The National Library of Medicine has announced that PubMed is undergoing a redesign of the interface.  An updated version of PubMed, expected to be released in Fall/Winter, 2019, is now available on the experimental PubMed Labs platform.

You can read all about it here .

To see graphical illustrations from PubMed Labs, visit the NLM Technical Bulletin.

Browse and Read Medical Journals With Read by QxMD

The Library has access to Read by QxMD, a free app for iOS and Android. Read, links to PubMed interface to provide users with abstracts from thousands of journals. You can personalize the content you receive. Seamless access to full text is available for Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Share articles via email, Facebook and Twitter.

For more information on how to set up full-text access, see our Read by QxMd guide.

Nature Metabolism Is Now Available

Volume 1 Issue 7
Nature Metabolism is now available in the Library.  This new journal from nature.com is interested in the best research from across all fields of metabolism research, incorporating the work of basic scientists and researchers in the industry.  At its core, the research published in Nature Metabolism sheds light on how cellular metabolism informs cellular function, on the physiology and homeostasis of organs and tissues, on the regulation of organismal energy homeostasis, and on the molecular pathophysiology of metabolic diseases, such as diabetes and obesity, or the treatment thereof. 

Want to publish in Nature Metabolism? Visit their instructions for authors page.

Find Nature Metabolism in our  e-journals collection. 

Library Classes and Events

What to Think About When Doing a Systematic Review
Tuesday, August 27, 2019, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

PubMed
Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Webinar: Find Full-text With EndNote
Wednesday, September 11, 2019, 12:00pm - 12:30pm

RefWorks
Wednesday, September 18, 2019, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Mendeley
Thursday, September 19, 2019, 10:00pm - 11:00pm

EndNote
Tuesday, September 24, 2019, 9:30am - 11:00am

What to Think About When Doing a Systematic Review
Thursday, September 26, 2019, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

New E-Books

Cover of Using Technology to Advance Global Health
Using technology to advance global health: proceedings of a workshop, Rachel M. Taylor and Joe Alper, 2018.

Cover of Telehealth-Delivered Opioid Agonist Therapy for the Treatment of Adults with Opioid Use Disorder: Review of Clinical Effectiveness, Cost-Effectiveness, and Guidelines
Telehealth-delivered opioid agonist therapy for the treatment of adults with opioid use disorder: review of clinical effectiveness, cost-effectiveness, and guidelines, Chuong Ho, Charlene Argáez, 2018.

Cover of Countering Violent Extremism Through Public Health Practice
Countering violent extremism through public health practice: proceedings of a workshop, Justin Snair, Anna Nicholson, and Claire Giammaria, 2017.

Cover of Health Communication with Immigrants, Refugees, and Migrant Workers
Health communication with immigrants, refugees, and migrant workers: proceedings of a workshop--in brief, Health and Medicine Division, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine ; prepared by Lyla M. Hernandez, 2017.

New Titles From Access Medicine


Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's medical microbiology, 28th ed. Stefan Riedel, Jeffery A. Hobden, Steve Miller, Stephen A. Morse, Timothy A. Mietzner, Barbara Detrick, Thomas G. Mitchell, Judy A. Sakanari, Peter Hotez, Rojelio Mejia, 2019.
 
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health the Medical PDF Version
Essentials of psychiatry in primary care: behavioral health in the medical setting, Robert C. Smith, Gerald G. Osborn, Francesca C. Dwamena, Dale D'Mello, Laura Freilich, Heather S. Laird-Fick, 2018.
 
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis Treatment, Second Edition PDF Version 2nd
Text and atlas of wound diagnosis and treatment, editor, Rose L. Hamm, 2019.

New Titles From The McGraw-Hill First Aid Collection

First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2019,  Twenty-ninth edition
First aid for the psychiatry clerkship, Latha Ganti, Matthew S. Kaufman, Sean M. Blitzstein, 2019
 
  First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship, Fourth Edition
First aid for the pediatrics clerkship, Latha Ganti, ... [et al.], 2018.
 
First Aid for the Obstetrics and Gynecology Clerkship, Fourth Edition
First aid for the obstetrics & gynecology clerkship, Latha Ganti, Matthew Kaufman, Shireen Madani Sims, 2018.

Librarian

Rachel Schwartz's picture
Rachel Schwartz
Contact:
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, New York 10461
718.430.3104
Website