Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, November 2017: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Newsletter

Welcome

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities.  It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use.

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held in the Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

If You Could Have 3 Wishes What Would They Be?

We all have wish lists. Library staff want to know what resources and services you would like the Library to provide in the future. Visit http://bit.ly/libgen17 to share your wishes with the Library Genie.  We'll do our best to grant your wishes. Wishes are being accepted from now until November 22.

A list of the wishes we were able to grant from 2016’s Library Genie, can be viewed at http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/3wishes.

Search for Potential Environmental Health Hazards in your Community

Image result for tox app

Use Tox-App, a free mobile app for iOS users from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), to search for industrial facilities that reported releasing certain chemicals into the environment (based on data from the US EPA TRI program). Tox-App includes a subset of about 100 TRI chemicals for the most current TRI year. You can download Tox-App from the Apple App Store: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tox-app/id1227471020?mt=8

Tox-App is based on NLM online tool TOXMAP and provides some of the basic TOXMAP functions, including:

  • Search for reporting facilities by name or state
  • Browse for facilities by chemical, state, or county
  • View locations of reporting facilities on an interactive map

Learn more about Tox-App here: https://go.usa.gov/xRhbY

New York Public Library at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library

    

Once again, the D. Samuel Gottesman Library hosted the Morris Park branch of the New York Public Library (NYPL) at an event, to register users for an NYPL library card, and to share some of the many resources available as NYPL card holders. 

The Library staff was also on hand to tell users about exciting new resources and programs here at Einstein, such as: Dynamed Plus, iPads you can borrow, citation management tools: EndNote, F1000 Workspace, Mendeley, RefWorks, Zotero, 3-D printing just to mention a few.

Staff members from both libraries were present in the Forchheimer Lobby and in the Library.  Gifts were distributed and refreshments and snacks were enjoyed by all in this lively event with our local community library.

Clinical Queries: Clinical Study Catagories

We updated the Clinical Study Categories to the D. Samuel Gottesman Library's PubMed link to include both the "Broad" and the "Narrow" filters for the various clinical categories.  

The Clinical Study Categories are a specialized set of queries designed for clinicians.  They are based on research done by R. Brian Hayes, M.D., Ph.D. at McMaster University in Canada. 

Five specific types of clinical research categories or filters are visible; Therapy, Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis, and Clinical Prediction Guides. Two scope filters are provided; a Broad (Sensitive) search and a Narrow (Specific) search.

If you are signed into your own MyNCBI account, you will not see these features.  To get more information, please contact askref@einstein.yu.edu or see our PubMed Tips research guide.

Journal Citation Reports Data Release 2017

The 2017 edition of Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is now available through the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. The 2017 data is for the previous JCR year, 2016, and includes 132 new journals. Journal Citation Reports data is extracted from Web of Science content.

For more information, read the press release.

If you have any questions or require assistance, please contact the Reference staff at askref@einstein.yu.edu or 718-430-3104.

The Brain Initiative

Image result for the brain initiative

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) launched a major effort on October 23, 2017 to discover and catalog the brain’s “parts list.” The NIH’s Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative Cell Census Network (BICCN) aims to provide researchers with a comprehensive reference of the diverse cell types in human, monkey, and mouse brain. A network of integrated centers, collaborating laboratories, and data resources will be funded by 11 grants projected to total about $50 million annually over five years, pending the availability of funds. All data will be shared with the research community.

Read More at NIH

A Free Medical Image and Radiology Database

MEDPIX

Case of the Week Image

The National Library of Medicine hosts MedPix, which is a "searchable online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics." This collection includes almost 54,000 images, including x-rays, photographs, and more, which you can explore by conducting a text search.  You can browse by diagnosis, which are organized alphabetically. In total, this collection includes almost 20,000 patient cases.

MedPix was designed as a resource for current medical practitioners as well as medical students.

MedPix also offers a free Continuing Medical Education (CME) course for current medical practitioners.

Librarian

Rachel Schwartz's picture
Rachel Schwartz
Contact:
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, New York 10461
718.430.3104
Website