Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, May 2016: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Monthly Newsletter

Welcome!

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Subscribe to BiblioBlast and manage your subscription.

In this issue:

Play Games in the Library
NCBI’s My Bibliography Enhancements
Now You Can Save to the Cloud from the Library Scanner
DataUSA for US Public Data, Visualized
New NCBI Video: Navigating the NIH Manuscript Submission Process
Online Help for Creating Charts
Einstein Book Club
E-Books from Clinical Key
E-Books
Library Webinars: Learning from the Comfort of Your Office

Library Webinars: Learning from the Comfort of Your Office

The Library is offering a new series of 30-minute webinars from 12:00-12:30pm on Wednesdays. Register online now so that you can log in from your own computer. Upcoming webinars include:

Finding Full-Text with EndNote

Wednesday, May 25

 

Clinical Queries

Wednesday, June 1

 

Measure Your Impact with the H-Index

Wednesday, June 8, 12:00-12:30pm

 

3 Apps in 30 Minutes

Wednesday, June 15, 12:00-12:30pm

 

My NCBI

Wednesday, June 22, 12:00-12:30pm

 

The webinars are in addition to our regularly scheduled, live and in-person classes in Forchheimer 119N

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held in the Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Play Games in the Library

Occam’s Razor, a card game, is now on reserve in the library and is available for a one-day loan. Created by two physicians to be both a game and a study aid to challenge diagnostic ability, the game draws on the classic theories of Occam's razor and Hickam's dictum, that the simplest explanation is usually correct and that patients can have as many diseases as they please, respectively. According to Nerdcore Medical, the game creators, Occam’s Razor is useful for USMLE Step 2 CS prep. The game features fourteen conditions, from acute appendicitis to septic arthritis.

There are four different ways to play:
o Gin Rummy Occam: Collect the highest scoring hand of matching symptoms.
o Deduce the Disease: Be the first to deduce the hidden disease card.
o Occam Solitaire: Match symptoms in order to clear all your face-down piles.
o Spoons: Include family and friends in a fun, fast-paced game that requires no previous medical knowledge.

NCBI’s My Bibliography Enhancements

Updating your publications lists in NCBI’s My Bibliography and Other Citations has just gotten easier thanks to two new enhancements.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add from PubMed allows users to search PubMed by author, award number or text word for their own publications or other publications supported by their grants. Search results can be easily imported into My Bibliography or Other Citations.

Users of citation managers such as EndNote, RefWorks, Mendeley, and Zotero can export selected citations from their libraries in a file using MEDLINE or RIS (Research Information Systems) formatting and then upload the file into My Bibliography or Other Citations using the Upload a file tool. This feature is useful for adding publications that are not indexed in PubMed.

 Users still have the option to add a citation manually. The options to upload a file and add a citation are a great way to incorporate many types of publications into My Bibliography, including books and chapters, meeting abstracts, presentations, patents, datasets or databases or software.

 More information is available in the March-April issue of National Library of Medicine’s Technical Bulletin.

DataUSA for US Public Data, Visualized

Data USA, a project by the MIT Media Lab launched in April, claims to be “the most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data.” The website provides an easy-to-use search engine and provides profiles for locations, industries, occupations and education. It is free and its code is open source.

To try it, enter your interest in the search box to find common statistical breakdowns and summaries. From there, you can embed and download charts and data, and make comparisons.

Now You Can Save to the Cloud from the Library Scanner

The scanner in the Beren Study Center has gotten a software upgrade. Now you can save scanned documents to Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, and Box. To do so, tap the “Save to Cloud Storage” button after scanning your document. Tap the button for the cloud storage of your choice, and put in your username and password.

For more information on the Library’s printing, scanning, and photocopying services, see our guide.

Online Help for Creating Charts

If you are having trouble deciding the best chart to use to display your data, you should take a look at Chart Chooser at Juice Analytics. Chart Chooser allows you to pick your chart for either Excel or PowerPoint. If you would like to narrow the options available, you can choose from comparison, distribution, composition, trend, relationship and table. Then choose either Excel or Powerpoint and download it. Once it is downloaded, you put in your data and make whatever modifications you like.  For more information, please take a look at this post from the blog of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine Evaluation Office.

New NCBI Video: Navigating the NIH Manuscript Submission Process

The newest video on the NCBI YouTube channel, Navigating the NIH Manuscript Submission Process, gives you detailed help with submitting, reviewing and approving your manuscript in the NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) system. The NIHMS system supports manuscript depositing into PubMed Central (PMC) as required by the public access policies of NIH and other participating funding agencies.

Einstein Book Club

At its July 13 meeting, the Einstein Book Club will examine the darker side of Manhattan history in Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York, by Luc Sante. “The narrative is replete not only with wit but with feeling…. No brief summary can do justice to the scope and richness of Sante’s chronicle.” – Philadelphia Enquirer.