Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, March 2017: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Newsletter

Welcome

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities.  It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use.

New York Public Library Comes To The D. Samuel Gottesman Library

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library hosted the Morris Park branch of the New York Public Library (NYPL) at an event to register users for an NYPL library card, and to share some of the many resources available as NYPL card holders. 

The Library staff was also on hand to tell users about exciting new resources and programs here at Einstein, such as: Dynamed Plus, iPads you can borrow, citation management tools: EndNote, F1000 Workspace, Mendeley, RefWorks, Zotero, 3-D printing just to mention a few.

Staff members from both libraries were present in the Forchheimer Lobby and in the Library.  Gifts were distributed and refreshments and snacks were enjoyed by all in this spirited event with our local community library.

  

Refreshments and snacks

 

 

Registering for an NYPL card

Track The Significant Regulatory And Legal Developments In Medical Research

 

Medical Research Law & Policy Report (Online) provided by the Bureau of National Affairs (Arlington, Va) now owned by Bloomberg LP, covers regulatory and legal developments affecting medical research. Major topics include accreditation, bioterrorism, clinical trial mishaps, cloning, conflicts of interest, data monitoring committees, genetic research, human subject protections, informed consent, institutional review boards, intellectual property, patients' rights, privacy, misconduct, and stem cell research.

Researchers can search the archive back to 2002. Email updates are available; click "Sign up for email updates" or create an account profile by clicking the "Create an account profile" link on the database home page. 

3D Printing Class

Digital Initiatives Librarian, Winifred King, debuted a class on 3D Printing Basics on Friday, March 10 along with Hayeem Rudy, 2nd year medical student. The class was developed in response to requests from student council members. Attendees learned about the 3D printing process and were given insight into how models can be created and used.

Stay tuned for more classes on 3D printing and other emerging technologies in the future.

Visit our 3D Printing guide to learn more about this library service and how to request to have your 3D file printed.

Authors Exhibit Now on Display

Stop by the Library lobby to see the new exhibit honoring authors and editors of – and contributors to – books and ebooks. This year’s exhibit, which includes books published between March 2015 and the present, includes twenty-nine books and ebooks. Subjects include biostatics, ethics, clinical medicine, medical research and more. The exhibit will be up through March and April.

Thank you to all the participants! 

New Chairs In The Group Study Rooms

New, colorful chairs were recently delivered for use and comfort in the Group Study Rooms.  Student reviews are positive.  Please be careful with food and drink so as not to damage the chairs and keep them looking good. 

Enjoy!

Your Instant Second Opinion

Image result for bmj best practice

The library has acquired a trial to BMJ Best Practice that will end June 2017.  Try it now from this link here or access it from the library’s Catalog. Email any comments or questions to Racheline Habousha, Library Director, at 718.430.3108 and Racheline.Habousha@einstein.yu.edu.  

BMJ Best Practice is a point-of-care tool that provides fast and easy access to reliable, up-to-date information for health professionals making diagnosis and treatment decisions. It provides the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice provides a second opinion in an instant, without the need for moving between multiple resources. Best Practice is produced by the BMJ Evidence Centre.

A Best Practice mobile app is currently available for Apple devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod). To use the app, first register using the link on the top of the right hand side bar on the Best Practice site. Then download the BMJ Best Practice App from the App Store, and sign in using your log-in information.

Librarian

Rachel Schwartz's picture
Rachel Schwartz
Contact:
D. Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, New York 10461
718.430.3104
Website / Blog Page