Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, June 2016: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library

Welcome

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  BiblioBlast will inform you about new library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities.  It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use.

Click here to manage your subscription or unsubscribe from BiblioBlast.

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held in the Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Charging Station In The Reading Room

A wall-mount phone charging station was installed in the Reading Room.             

A Charging Locker unit is located in the Beren Study Center but is not yet operational. 

Stay tuned for when it is available for use.

Zika Virus Guide

The Library has published a new Research Guide with health and medical Information on the Zika Virus. The guide links to various online resources and includes information about:

  • Resources for healthcare providers and facilities
  • Consumer health resources
  • New York Zika Resources
  • Global News
  • Centers for disease prevention and control
  • Licensed resources from the library

A reference librarian can help you search the literature. Contact us if you’d like more information.

Congratulations To Everyone On Their Graduation!

Congratulations to the Class of 2016 who graduated on May 25, 2016, celebrating the completion of your hard work and dedication! The Library staff wish you much happiness, success and gratification in your chosen fields.

Commencement Exhibit

 

If you have any questions, contact the Reference Department at 718.430.3104 or askref@einstein.yu.edu

New Exhibit In The Library Highlights George Washington’s Focus On The Health And Safety Of His Family, Staff, Slaves, And Troops

Painting of George WashingtonEvery Necessary Care and Attention: George Washington and Medicine

The Library is hosting a new traveling exhibit from the National Library of Medicine entitled Every Necessary Care and Attention: George Washington and Medicine. It will be on display from May 30 to July 10 opposite the Circulation Desk in the library.

As head of household, plantation owner, businessman, Revolutionary War general, and president, George Washington had many different concerns and responsibilities, from running his estate to ensuring the stability of a new nation. “Every Necessary Care and Attention”: George Washington and Medicine explores the story of George Washington’s own health and examines the ways in which he sought to safeguard the health and wellness of his family, staff, slaves, and troops. Washington’s story also illuminates the broader context of the experience of illness and the practice of medicine, which during his time was transitioning from a traditional healer craft to a profession.

More information about the exhibit can be found here:https://www.nlm.nih.gov/georgewashington/

Free Medical Journals

You can navigate through the site using the menu on the left side of each page, which offers the following options:  

  • A keyword Google search
  • View an alphabetical list of topics
  • FMJ Impact of top 20, 21-40, 41-60 journals, and quick view (lists top 60)
  • Free Access - Immediately, After 1-6 months, After 7-12 months, or Later
  • Title list
  • Language - Spanish, French, or Portuguese

Regular updates are provided by Manuel Montenegro and Bernd Sebastian Kamps. You can also sign up for the journal alert feature.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) indexes and provides access to approximately 1,720,260 articles in 9,986 journals from 134 countries. Dozens of fields are searchable here, including Medicine, Health Sciences, Biology and Life Science, Social Sciences, and Technology and Engineering. The Latest News section is where DOAJ lists updates and interesting tidbits. DOAJ is maintained by Infrastructure Services for Open Access (IS4OA).  You can search by Title, Keywords, Subject, and other categories, as well as by Journal Language, Country of Publication, and Publisher.

International Clinical Research Regulations

The website, provides users with useful comparison capabilities between countries and an overview of country-specific regulations in the following topic areas:

  • Competent Authority Oversight
  • Ethics Committee Oversight
  • Clinical Trial Lifecycle
  • Sponsorship
  • Informed Consent
  • Investigational Products
  • Specimens

Details on how to find country-specific requirements and conduct comparison searches is available in the user guide (PDF, 148 KB).