Skip to main content

BiblioBlast, June 2015: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Monthly Newsletter

Welcome!

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Subscribe to BiblioBlast and manage your subscription.

In this issue:

Congratulations!

Global Health Exhibit Arrives at the Library

Searching (and Finding) the Global Health Literature

PubMed Mobile Update

MedlinePlus: Access from Your Phone, Tablet or Desktop

Einstein Book Club

Try the Calculate App at the Point of Care

Find Article-Level Metrics for Free

ChooseMyPlate.gov Adds Languages

New AAMC Guide to Peer Review

E-Books from APA

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held in the Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Einstein Book Club

2015’s food theme continues with a novel of “perfectly wrought prose” for July. There is still time to read Five Quarters of the Orange, by Joanne Harris, and make it to the Book Club discussion on July 8.

On September 9, we will continue with a memoir, The Language of Baklava, by Diane Abu-Jabar.

New AAMC Guide to Peer Review

The AAMC has published a new edition of Review Criteria for Research Manuscripts. The guide is intended for medical education scholars and faculty as they seek or provide peer review of manuscripts before publication. The guide, now in its second edition, includes new chapters on reporting qualitative findings, assessing literature reviews, and reviewing reports on innovations. It is available as a free PDF.

Congratulations!

Congratulations to the Class of 2015 of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine!

The Library staff wishes you much happiness, success and gratification in your chosen fields.

Global Health Exhibit Arrives at the Library

The Library is hosting a traveling exhibit, Against the Odds: Making a Difference in Global Health, from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  It will be on display until July 10 opposite the Circulation Desk.

Against the Odds highlights the role of communities in improving health at home and all around the world. It explores the shared basic needs required for a good quality of life, including nutritious food and clean water, a safe place to live and affordable health care.

Using historical and contemporary photographs, the banners tell stories of collaboration between families, scientists, advocates, governments and international organizations, all taking up the challenge to prevent disease and improve medical care.

This exhibit raises awareness of the sources and effects of health inequalities and invites each of us to join the global campaign for health and human rights. Find out more.

Join the D. Samuel Gottesman Library and Einstein Global Health Center staff at the library on June 25, 2015, from 4:00 to 5:00pm for a celebration of the exhibit and to hear about global health programs and resources available to you. Refreshments will be served.

Searching (and Finding) the Global Health Literature

To learn more about global health, plan to attend a special presentation, Get the Most Out of Global Health from CAB Direct, on June 17, from 9:30-11:00am. Our speakers, Hope Jansen and Tom Corser, from CAB Direct, will provide an introduction to the Global Health database, an essential resource for anyone interested in public health as well as international medical and health research.

The Global Health database covers over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences and contains over 2.5 million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Around 175,000 records are added each year, and over 96% of these records include an English abstract. In addition, Global Health has a growing number of full-text articles (over 58,000) from journals, conferences and reports.

ChooseMyPlate.gov Adds Languages

To help combat epidemic rates of overweight and obesity, ChooseMyPlate.gov provides resources to help Americans make healthier food choices for themselves, their families and their children. ChooseMyPlate.gov provides practical information and tools to individuals, health professionals, nutrition educators and the food industry with tools for dietary assessment, nutrition education and other user-friendly nutrition information.

MyPlate, an icon to promote healthy eating, is now available in 20 languages and several file formats. The MyPlate icon emphasizes the fruit, vegetable, grains, protein foods, and dairy groups.

The first in the Ten Tips Nutrition Education Series -- Choose MyPlate -- is available in all 20 languages.

PubMed Mobile Update

PubMed Mobile has been updated with a number of enhancements. These include the following:

  • "Trending articles" feature on the homepage
  • "Related searches" discovery tool
  • "Show full citation" link with citation, author(s), and affiliation details

Find out more.

MedlinePlus: Access from Your Phone, Tablet or Desktop

The new version of MedlinePlus, the NLM’s consumer health website, now provides a consistent user experience from a desktop, tablet or phone. Users now have one destination for MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en español when using any device.

The MedlinePlus homepage now has a streamlined appearance and still provides access to the three main areas of the site:

  • Health Topics
  • Drugs & Supplements
  • Videos & Tools

The homepages also include links to the Medical Encyclopedia, Medical Dictionary, current health news and more. MedlinePlus is a great resource to share with your patients.

Find Article-Level Metrics for Free

Reading a paper and want to find out how many times it has been cited in social media? Install the free Altmetric bookmarklet for Chrome, Firefox and Safari. To install the bookmarklet, just drag it into your browser’s bookmark bar – this is typically underneath the address bar. The bookmarklet works with PubMed as well as other webpages containing a DOI. More information on the bookmarklet can be found here.

Try the Calculate App at the Point of Care

Calculate by QxMD is now available for Windows. The app, which is free, works on Windows desktop, Surface and Windows Phone. Windows 8.1 is required for it to run. It includes more than 200 point-of-care tools.   Calculate is also available as an app for Android, Blackberry, and iOS devices. See our Mobile Resources guide for links to download this and other useful point-of-care tools for your mobile device.